Posted in Featured News , Front Page News , Uncategorised

The SMJFL would like to welcome new members Kate Riordan, Jamie Gray and Matt Webb to the South Metro Junior Football League Board.

The trio were elected to the Board at the League’s Annual General Meeting last Tuesday night and look forward to continuing on the Board’s fantastic work in 2016.

Kate brings a great deal of business acumen to the Board, having spent the past few years working in her own consulting firm, which specialises in providing business advice and analysis for small businesses. She has also previous worked in HR roles for larger, multi-national organisations.

With two school aged children, she is passionate about team sports and ensuring a safe, fun and rewarding environment for all children. As a mum, she looks forward to bringing a different perspective to the SMJFL Board.

Her youngest child due to begin his junior football career in the Under 8s at Port Melbourne Colts in 2016.

Jamie is the CEO of the Clarendon Property Group, which has extensive experience and expertise in commercial property development, ownership and management, and his property and building experience will be vital given the League’s involvement in the Moorabbin Reserve redevelopment.

He has also been on the Council of St Catherine’s School since 2002 and Chaired the Building and Property Committee since 2004.

Jamie was also formerly the President of Prahran JFC for six years and served as a committee member from 2009-2015.

Matt comes from an automotive background and has 28 years’ experience in the automotive industry. He has been self-employed for 16 years and currently owns and manages a prestige automotive service workshop.

As a member of the Board. Matt is keen to promote involvement with junior football for both boys and girls. He understands the challenges that local clubs face in the current competitive sporting market and also sees the importance of keeping boys and girls involved in sport and their community.

Matt’s two sons play football at the Waverley Park Hawks JFC and his own involvement with the club spans eight years in various roles, including President, Vice President and Committee Member.

But with new arrivals come departures, with Felicity Frederico and Paul O’Toole also stepping down as SMJFL Board members.

A member of the Bayside City Council since 2008 and elected mayor in 2014, Felicity’s strengths in stakeholder engagement, corporate governance and government relationship management were invaluable to the League during her three-year tenure on the Board.

Felicity also contributed much to girls’ football through her membership on the Girls’ Football Working Party and has been one of the driving forces behind the ‘Grass Ceiling Campaign’.

Paul’s passion for junior football talent pathways has been unwavering and he was instrumental in the restructuring of the SMJFL Interleague department.

A member of the Football, Talent and Pathways sub-committee, Player Retention working party and the Match Day Behaviour working party, Paul has put in a mountain of work in his three years on the Board.

The SMJFL sincerely thanks both Felicity and Paul for their tireless service they have given the League as members of the SMJFL Board and we wish them all the best in future endeavours.


League Chairman Peter Ryan welcomes the SMJFL’s newest Board Members (from left) Jamie Gray, Kate Riordan and Matt Webb.


Peter thanks outgoing Board Member Felicity Frederico for her contributions over the last three years.


Peter thanks Paul O’Toole for his contributions as a member of the SMJFL Board.