Posted in Front Page News

The SMJFL has reinforced its standing as the premier junior football league in Victoria by having nine of the state’s top 20 clubs for most junior teams fielded this year.

Beaumaris FC, East Brighton Vampires JFC and East Malvern JFC all fielded 25 teams for the 2013 SMJFL season, closely followed by Mordialloc Braeside JFC and East Sandringham JFC with 24 teams each.

St Peters JFC fielded 19 teams, while Ormond JFC, Ajax JFC and Hampton Rovers AFC fielded 18.

SMJFL General Manager Jake McCauley said the achievement helped to highlight the SMJFL’s standing as the largest junior football league (by total team numbers) in Australia.

McCauley paid tribute to the people who make the SMJFL’s 28 member clubs tick from week to week.

“To run an SMJFL club with up to 25 teams and 600 registered players – with only volunteers – takes a huge amount of effort and the SMJFL would like to acknowledge the ongoing efforts of those club committees and volunteers,” McCauley said.

“While acknowledging the nine SMJFL clubs in the top 20, it’s also important that we recognise the achievements of all 28 member clubs, as some clubs are currently at the capacity of their available ground usage and don’t have access to the number of grounds that would enable them to grow to the size of a top 20 club.”

Ashburton JFC            Yarra Junior Football League (YJFL)    27

Beaumaris FC            South Metro Junior Football League    25

East Brighton Vampires JFC    South Metro Junior Football League    25

East Malvern JFC        South Metro Junior Football League    25

Mordialloc Braeside JFC        South Metro Junior Football League    24

East Sandringham JFC        South Metro Junior Football League    24

South Morang Football Club    Northern Football League (NFL)        22

St Marys GJFC            Yarra Junior Football League (YJFL)    22

Glen Iris JFC            Yarra Junior Football League (YJFL)    20

Blackburn            Eastern Football League (EFL)        20

St Peters JFC            South Metro Junior Football League    19

Camberwell JFC            Yarra Junior Football League (YJFL)    19

Fitzroy JFC            Yarra Junior Football League (YJFL)    19

Kew Comets Junior Football Club    Yarra Junior Football League (YJFL)    19

Ormond JFC            South Metro Junior Football League    18

Vermont                Eastern Football League (EFL)        18

PONRPJFC            Yarra Junior Football League (YJFL)    18

Ajax JFC            South Metro Junior Football League    18

Hawthorn Citizens JFC        Yarra Junior Football League (YJFL)    18

Hampton Rovers AFC        South Metro Junior Football League    18