Posted in Featured News , Female Football , Front Page News

SEVERAL big names including reigning best and fairest Erin Phillips, All Australian skipper Daisy Pearce and leading goalkicker Darcy Vescio will feature in the NAB AFL Women’s state of origin match at Etihad Stadium on September 2. 

The match will see a squad of Victorian-born players take on an Allies team made up of players born in other states.

Melbourne’s AFLW football operations manager and women’s football legend Debbie Lee will coach the Vics, while Bec Goddard, who led Adelaide to the inaugural AFL premiership, will coach the Allies.

“It’s great to see the tradition of state of origin football continued. It has always been revered by football supporters and the women’s match will be no different,” Lee said.

Goddard, who also coached an Allies team at the recenty completed NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 Championships on the Gold Coast, said she was looking forward to taking on the Vics.

“Coaching in South Australia, I understand how passionate South Australians are about their footy and nothing burns deeper than a fierce contest against Victoria,” she said.

Initial squads for the two teams were released on Tuesday, based on the 2017 Virgin Australian AFL Women’s All Australian squad, with more players to be named later.



Sarah Perkins (Adelaide), Kaitlyn Ashmore (Brisbane Lions), Brianna Davey, Darcy Vescio, Alison Downie, Danielle Hardiman, Nicola Stevens (Carlton), Sarah D’Arcy, Jess Cameron (Collingwood), Kara Donnellan (Fremantle) Alicia Eva, Jess Dal Pos (GWS), Karen Paxman, Daisy Pearce, Melissa Hickey, Lily Mithen, Jasmine Grierson (Melbourne), Ellie Blackburn, Emma Kearney and Hannah Scott (Western Bulldogs)


Chelsea Randall, Erin Phillips, Ebony Marinoff, Courtney Cramey (Adelaide), Sabrina Frederick-Traub, Emily Bates (Brisbane Lions), Emma Zielke, Jess Wuetschner, Kate McCarthy, Leah Kaslar, Sam Virgo (Brisbane Lions), Tayla Harris (Carlton), Emma King (Collingwood), Ebony Antonio, Kirby Bentley, Dana Hooker   (Fremantle), Erin McKinnon, Emma Swanson, Renee Tomkins (GWS) and Elise O’Dea (Melbourne)

An under-18 state of origin match will be played as a curtain-raiser, featuring players from the All Australian squad. The NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 All Australian team will be announced after the match.

Originally published on as ‘Big names locked in for AFLW state of origin