Posted in Featured News , Front Page News , People of the SMJFL

It was a massive night for the Inner Southern Region last Friday, with the Region cleaning up at the AFL Victoria Community Football Awards gala dinner.

The SMJFL in particular was well represented with no fewer than three award winners and finalists.

South Melbourne Districts Auskick coordinator David Wolf took home the AFL Auskick Volunteer of the Year, while Russell McMurray received an AFL Merit Award for his work with the SMJFL/MSJFL Board and the Cheltenham Panthers JFC.

Port Melbourne Colts JFC Under 9s coach Kevin Dillon was also one of four shortlisted finalists for the David Parkin Junior Coach of the Year Award.

Southern Football Netball League coach Sam Anstey became the Inner Southern Region’s first winner of the prestigious Gerard Fitzgerald Senior Coach of the Year award after steering Mordialloc to its third consecutive Grand Final appearance.

The SFNL’s Director of Umpiring Peter Mair also claimed the Metro Umpires Coach of the Year gong.

AFL Victoria Inner Southern Region Development Manager Gary Brown said that Friday night’s success was a boon for the SMJFL and the region’s Auskick program and a just reward for the individuals that invest so much into their local clubs.

“It was a terrific night for the Inner Southern Region, and more particularly for the SMJFL and SFNL competitions,” Brown said.

“It’s a testament to the programs that we’ve been running in relation to coach education and volunteer up-skilling and for these individuals to get this recognition at state level is absolutely tremendous.”

The SMJFL would like to extend congratulations to all the Inner Southern Region’s award winners and finalists.