Posted in Featured News , Front Page News

On Wednesday night, 22nd August at Kingston Town Hall, the SMJFL Umpire Academy held their annual Presentation Night with over 150 in attendance.

Outstanding umpire Nick Ritchie took home the Golden Whistle Award with the Umpire Academy announcing a host of award winners and special recognition awards on the night. The Eddie Griffin Memorial Award for Best First Year Field Umpire was awarded to Adam Morrow whilst Ashley Curry took out the Best First Year Boundary Umpire award.

AFL Umpires Chris Donlan and Leigh Fisher were in attendance as special guests, providing the young umpires in the room with some wise words and advice on taking the next step towards becoming an AFL Umpire.

SMJFL CEO Sarah Loh made a special announcement on the night, introducing and welcoming the Umpire Academy’s first ever Premier Sponsor, Monarch.


Golden Whistle Nick Ritchie
Most Improved Field Umpire Hayden Whitehouse
Best First Year Field Umpire – Eddie Griffin Award Adam Marrow
Best First Year Boundary Umpire Ashley Curry
Field Umpire Training Award 2018 – Emery/Mahoney Group Om Satija
Field Umpire Training Award 2018 – Haworth Group Jeremy Zhou
Field Umpire Training Award 2018 – Bergman/Mahoney Group Conor Mooney
Field Umpire Training Award Award 2018 – Guy Group India Isaacs
Boundary Umpire Training Award 2018 – Stelling Group Jacob Fitzpatrick
St Bedes Training Award Jack Lowe
Female Encouragement Award Ruby O’Sullivan
Family Recognition Award Gillespie Family
Most Improved Boundary Umpire Stephanie Pickett
250+ Games Recognition Nick Bergman
150+ Games Recognition Glenn Emery
Hannah Bailes
Brendan Serle
Courtney Stelling
100+ Games Recognition Peter Martin
Brian Moore
Robert Gillespie
Logan Webster
Jordan Davis
Harrison Hymans
James Robertshaw
Brooke Foster
Thomas Waring
Daniel Wescombe
Joseph Keats
Nick Ritchie

Nick Ritchie – Golden Whistle recipient

Adam Morrow – Eddie Griffin Memorial Award – Best First Year Field Umpire – recipient