The South Metro Junior Football League (SMJFL) came into existence in 2012, after the Moorabbin Saints Junior Football League (MSJFL) was renamed in order to better represent the League’s geographical spread and its presence in south-east metropolitan Melbourne.

In 2018, the SMJFL consisted of 26 member clubs, 488 teams playing Australian Rules football across 64 different divisions. The SMJFL caters for age groups ranging from Under 8s to Under 18s, including three divisions for girls – Under 10, Under 12, Under 14, Under 16 and Under 18.

With 11,048 participants involved in the League in 2018, 2019 will be one of the biggest years yet in the history of the SMJFL/MSJFL.


Strategic Plan

SMJFL Strategic Plan 2019-21


Life Members

Tim Walsh (SMJFL) – 2016

Roger Teale (SMJFL) – 2016

Russell McMurray (SMJFL) – 2015

David Andrews (MSJFL)

Len Manzie (MSJFL)

Jack Chrapot (MSJFL)

David Landau (MSJFL)

Peter Henwood (MSJFL)

Steve Kilpatrick (MSJFL)

Bruce Stegelman (MSJFL)*

Geoff Bayliss (MSJFL)

Carl Russo (MSJFL)

Doug Willians (MSJFL)

Pauline Stegelman (MSJFL)

Colleen Inglis (MSJFL)

* Deceased


AFL Players

The following document lists SMJFL juniors who have gone on to become AFL players. If this list is incomplete for your particular club and you wish to add a former junior or juniors to this list, please email marketing@smjfl.com.au.

Initiates file downloadSMJFL AFL Players

The following document is the SMJFL ‘AFL All Star Team’, which was unveiled at the 2012 season launch. The team features the best 22 VFL/AFL players to have emerged from SMJFL clubs as judged by a selection panel consisting of several Herald Sun football writers.

Initiates file downloadSMJFL ‘AFL All Star Team’